Book Review: So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore

When I first saw this title over a year ago, I cringed. I though it was a direct offense to the church. After reading the synopsis however, I was a little less skeptical but decided not to read this particular book.
At the time, I was in a place of spiritual stagnation. I tried to do more for the congregation I was a part of, but that approach only left me exhausted. I was desperately seeking more. God pointed me to this book after reading “The Shack” which, for the first time, showed me God in a light of love I’d never been shown before. The synopsis for “So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore” was in the back of that book. However, I was in a place where I was too afraid to read such a book as the title sounded like heresy to me. After a few months of wallowing in spiritual drought regardless of my efforts, God again reminded me of this book. I hesitantly decided to read it.
I expected this book to be anti-church, yet I was under the wrong impression of what Jesus’ church actually is. I always knew that it was more than just the building but realized I was living under an illusion of the type of fellowship that Jesus desires for us to have. I have since read this book three times and get drawn more into that loving relationship with God and others each time I do.
For anyone interested, I would say don’t be afraid of the title. This book can be downloaded in PDF form for free from the authors’ site here.
Leave a Reply

