Bo’s Cafe: Don’t judge a book by its cover

Bo's Cafe

I dislike cliches.
It seems they are handed out to others as generic advice that they should retrofit to their unique situations. Sometimes they work, but many times what someone may need is a more personal encounter rather than just a cliche that could make them feel as though they are just outright wrong.
That being said, this cliche just so happens to fit perfectly here.
I had first heard of the book “Bo’s Cafe” about a year and a half ago. Based on the title and cover, I didn’t have much interest in it. I read the synopsis and figured I might give it a chance one day if I found it at a discount and I was bored.
Well, just that happened. I found it at a used bookstore and decided I’d nab it for a time I just wanted to read a novel type story.
When I finally felt led to read it, the book went about as could be expected for the first several chapters. I found the story line interesting enough that I had a continued desire to read it instead of doing other menial things.
And then it happened.
The author(s) made a point. At first I didn’t think it applied to me and didn’t get what the point was. Often, when I come across this scenario in such books, I never really get an applicable answer. However, the main character made the same statement as my thoughts (that this doesn’t apply to me and I don’t get the point). From there, the point was actually explained more fully and I saw how it is relevant to me and probably most of those I’ve known my entire life.
This has given me a major puzzle piece that I previously thought I knew, but haven’t been able to really “see” until now. It would seem that I was led to read this book at the perfect time when I most needed this perspective. I’m still learning how to apply this information personally but feel even closer to God now after these realizations.
I don’t want to explain the topics of the story in this post though as I don’t want to inadvertently provide any spoilers. I may discuss some of these concepts in future posts as I learn to respond to them in my own life.
I would definitely recommend “Bo’s Cafe” and reiterate that old cliche–Don’t judge this book by its cover.
Leave a Reply

