Currently Reading (Again) – So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore

After some amazing chats last night, I felt compelled to share this book that I’m reading again. I use to rarely read but, as the Holy Spirit has led me on this journey, there have been many books I’ve been prompted to dig into. This will be my fourth reading of this book in the last 2 years, and I find new and amazing concepts with Jesus every time.

When I first saw the title of this book, I was a bit turned off by it. I was invested in a local congregation at the time and didn’t really consider “the Church” to exist outside of the Sunday morning walls. Of coarse, my viewpoint has radically changed. I see the title now as a play on words. The Church isn’t something we “go to,” it’s who we are. Aspects of the Church may exist in the well known congregational settings, but it also far, far transcends that.

I’ve also had a chance to (indirectly) correspond with the primary author (Wayne Jacobsen) via email and a few podcast comments. He is the one I mentioned last night to those who were in that conversation. Wayne intimated not to worry about finding a church, and that every time I went back to the old congregation, I would find less and less there spiritually (though he wasn’t discouraging me from going). He also stated that as I walked out this journey with Jesus, others would find me and begin to walk alongside, and that it would most likely happen all of a sudden.

I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s one of my three “if you were on an island” books. It’s written as a fictitious story so it’s fairly easy to digest while still having meaning that can astound veteran believers.

This book can be found online for free (everyone’s favorite price) in PDF format at http://jakecolsen.com/contents.html.

Also, for convenience, here’s a link to the amazon book if anyone would like to read the synopsis and other reviewers’ commentaries.
7 thoughts on “Currently Reading (Again) – So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore

    • Finding Church was a very good book also. Wayne has a way of expressing thoughts in my head that I have a hard time communicating in words. His view of the Church is absolutely beautiful.

      The Shack was the first “out of the box” book God prompted me to read, though it took 3+ years before I finally did. I was, and still am, blown away by it. God was like, “See, told ya. Why didn’t you just listen to me before? ” He has funny, almost comical, ways of humbling me sometimes.

      I’m also patiently waiting for “Eve” to come out next month.

      Like

Leave a Reply

