Broken Prayer

Church Set Free

I don’t really pray anymore. At least not in the way that is currently considered prayer.

In my former life, when I did pray, I offered God lists of things that I wanted to see changed—circumstances in my life and the lives of others that I wanted set right. On the rare occasion when things went the way I expected, I felt as though God heard my prayers, and those of others, and granted our request. When things didn’t go right, I felt I was the one to blame. I didn’t have enough faith, I had some unseen sin, or enough people hadn’t prayed along with me.

It was quite a setup. Never was the system itself considered at fault, probably because it was good and holy and right. And if anything was to blame, it was us for our lack of faith or purity or stamina or conviction, or…

View original post 1,216 more words

Leave a Reply

